Tags

, , , , , , ,

I just blagged my way into a press conference with Arnold Palmer and the Governor of Pennsylvania, Tom Corbett.

I knew my NUJ press card would come in handy one day.

The 2015 US Women’s Open is being held in Lancaster and Arnold was here to get the event off to a good start.

Downtown Lancaster getting ready for a golf legend.

Downtown Lancaster getting ready for a golf legend.

Now as you all know, I’m a huge sports fan… and when I saw my fellow press members signing up to get their press packs and their media badges, I thought I’d tag along.

As soon as I got my press pack, I did what any serious journalist does and immediately went online to research the subject and to get as much information about the event as possible.

Or, in my case, to google Arnold Palmer to find out exactly who he is!

He’s a golf legend … apparently.

Anyway, the event was well-attended by a very excited section of the community; that section being very white, very middle-aged, and very male.

To use an American term I’ve heard a lot since I got here: “a sausage fest”.

I have to say, I was surprised to find at the launch of the 2015 US Women’s Open not one lady golfer on hand to promote the upcoming event.

Perhaps this was just as well as Mr. Palmer credits the success of ladies golf to the, and I quote, ‘attractiveness of the gals’ which he believes has come a long way in recent years.

Arnie is really looking forward to all the attractive 'gals' who will be taking part in the Women's Open in Lan-kiss-ter next year.

Arnie is really looking forward to all the attractive ‘gals’ who will be taking part in the Women’s Open in Lan-kiss-ter next year.

No one seemed to mind the many references to the ‘gals’ and their looks. In fact, Arnold asked one of the reporters if he was married. When the answer was yes, he said he could still admire the pretty gals at the Open.

Arnie and his jokes!!!!

Arnie and his jokes!!!!

Now, don’t get me wrong; he did enthuse about the golf skills of the, well I’m going to call them, competitors and how they are bringing ladies golf to a whole new level.

And the crowd goes wild!

And the crowd goes wild!

In fact, Arnold feels that the upcoming vote to admit women at St. Andrew’s Golf Club in Scotland is a good thing and he welcomes it.

Well, that will be nice for the ‘gals’.

 

 

